If you want to hear a good story, give Max a call and ask him about hitting a deer the other night. :) In the meantime, here’s the mom’s version…
Of course the story starts with mom and dad saying something like dammit, shit, move you bastard…something along those lines. Then there’s the slight swerve because we have a trailer behind us and don't want to flip the trailer or lose its contents.
The deer glances off of the van and gets annihilated by the trailer (Ralph’s old truck box trailer). And there’s a noise and a bump, Max asks “What was thaaaaat?” So we told him that a deer ran out and we hit it. The conversation continues as follows.
Max: “Is the deer dead?”
Darrin: “Probably.”
Max: “How come it ran out at us?
Darrin/Traci: “Deer just do those things.”
Traci (attempting an educational opportunity): “You know, that deer didn’t look before coming out into the road. Now, do you understand why mom and dad don’t want you on the road?”
Max: “Yesssss mom! I’m trying to get the story straight here so I can tell grandma.”
More jabbering about the “incident”
Max: “That deer’s mom and dad should have helped him cross the road!”
Darrin/Traci: “Deer aren’t the smartest animal, bud. They run out in front of cars all the time.”
Max: “Hmmm.”
I want what I have.
No comments:
Post a Comment